WIP: GI – Global Illumination

brokengirsm-1

I finally started working on real-time GI. I wanted to do this from a very very long time but never got the free time needed to actually do it. Ideally, the plan was to go through major algorithms & research papers from over last 10 yrs  like rsm, vpls, realtime radiosity, etc., before coming to some latest techniques like LPV or voxel-based methods. I have been reading a lot of stuff since ages but I didn’t get the time to implement anything until now. But now I may skip over some algorithm /techniques which I don’t feel are really important for real-time GI in games or have been succeeded by better versions of similar concepts.
So here’s first broken version of RSM.Screenshots contain indirect first bounce lighting.

brokengirsm-2

About chetanjags

Game Developer

Posted on December 17, 2016, in GI, Graphics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.