Using Spherical Harmonics for IBL Probes

shpost_sky1-3

This is a follow-up on the progress of my previous post on Spherical Harmonics. So I was working on my own spherical harmonics maths library even though there are numerous open source libraries out there for the same, including DirectXMaths which I am already using in my engine for SSE & Vector maths. The main objective of that task was the learning and it was indeed a good learning exercise.However, for SH based IBL probes in my engine, I used the DirectX maths library functions only because they are to the point, faster and SSE vector maths.

Spherical Harmonics are a nice way to approximate functions over a unit sphere and can be used to approximate lighting in a scene. Depending on the frequency of lighting detail we need we decide what order of SH we need to use, which in turn decides the number of coefficients needed.

I used 3rd order SH with 9 coefficients to approximate both local and global diffuse probes. And you can see the results below:

 

 

Cubemap based Diffuse probe 128x128x6, SH Probe using 9 coefficients and Image diffs are shown side by side.

So we can see there are differences for sure but do they matter? That depends on actual game environment & scenes. Even for above scene even though image diffs showed a big difference when I turned on proper material values results with SH probes looked were good enough.

If we do the math 1 cube map takes approx ~1 MB memory even more if we use 256 x 256 resolution but SH order 3 takes only 7 color values (RGBA). That’s one hell of a compression. This also enables us to spam SH probes all over the maps or scenes to use it as a sort of real-time GI solution.
Right now I have kept both the implementations in the engine and I can easily switch between them or do image diffs for any light probe.

(I  wanted to do a detailed semi-tutorial post for Spherical Harmonics too but I don’t have much free time nowadays and I am FINALLY working on real-time GI in the engine which is something I wanted to do since forever & just can’t wait to get first stable version up and running. If I get free time in near future I will come back to this and do that post to gather all the SH related info we need for gfx in one single post.).

About chetanjags

Game Developer

Posted on December 17, 2016, in GI, Graphics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

