WIP : Image Based Lighting

From past few weeks, I have been working on Image Based Lighting. Finally, I have finished writing features to generate dynamic cube maps and generate pre-convoluted probes for both diffuse (lambert) and GGX based specular.

 

Still there’s a lot of work to do. Here’s some rough list of features(or problems) I will be working on next:

  • Support for many IBL probes – I am thinking maybe 32
  • Choosing IBL probe (probes) to be used for the current pixel being shaded – I am thinking to maybe implement something similar to point light selection using tiled rendering or something. I can just replace point light calculation with cube map sampling for IBL. This way I can store all probes in a single array can bind all IBL probes to the single slot. I think this would be faster than checking the closest IBL probe for every object and passing it while shading. (Same benefits as deferred rendering over forward) 
  • Parallax correction for local probes
  • Realtime IBL probes? – I don’t know if I would need this or SSR would be good enough.
  • Fix seams for lower MIP levels. I am not sure whether I should implement parabolic maps or code some other techniques like wrap, or something.
  • Improve Pre-convolution performance by further randomizing the samples and use less number of samples.

 

About chetanjags

Game Developer

Posted on June 28, 2015, in GI, Graphics, JustAnotherGameEngine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

