WIP: HDR Rendering – GaussBlur Filter

So  as I mentioned earlier I have been working on implementing HDR rendering using compute shaders. It’s my first time with compute shaders and I hate that we can’t debug compute shaders (at least not in vs graphics debugger or pix). One of the part of HDR renderer is GuassBlur filter which will be used for bloom and later for DOF, Motion Blur, etc.

Right now I am implementing GuassBlur Filter using Compute Shaders. Here’s some screenshots of my first Implementation –

(With Blur)

BlurDemo1_Blur2

( Without Blur )

BlurDemo1_NoBlur2

I am not with it yet because it was same logic that I used in pixel shaders that’s now working in compute shader, I have to optimize it now. One method I am going to test soon is using repeated box filter as mentioned in MSBuild 2013 event .

About chetanjags

Game Developer

Posted on July 22, 2013, in Graphics, JustAnotherGameEngine. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

